Panel Title

BBC Radiophonic Workshop ‎– The Soundhouse


Current stock: 2

Artist: BBC Radiophonic Workshop

Year: 1983

Format: LP

Label: Silva Screen

2016 reissue on yellow vinyl

In 1979 the Fairlight CMI (Computer Musical Instrument) was launched, the year that the BBC Radiophonic Workshop celebrated its 21st birthday . At the price of a house (approx £30,000) this state of the art piece of equipment was embedded with an 8 bit digital sampling synthesizer capable of emulating acoustic instruments and orchestras alongside the manipulation of sound effects. For the BRW this was a major game changer, where previously, composers would spend weeks editing small pieces of tape together to create sounds. Ingenuity and creativity in music and sound was still at the forefront for Workshop members but suddenly made a whole lot easier.

This 1983 collection (a first time re-release here of the complete album) celebrated these new found freedoms most notably on the opening track where five Radiophonic composers combined to add their own musical identity to a rhythmic percussive sequence from the Fairlight. Highlights include music from the radio production of The Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy and Fancy Fish based on Saint-Saen’s Carnival Of The Animals which was the first BRW project to utilise the Fairlight.

A1 Howell, Limb, Gibbs, Clarke, Parker & Mills - Radiophonic Rock  
A2 Peter Howell -  Lascaux  
A3 Jonathan Gibbs -  Computers In The Real World  
A4 Dick Mills -  Seascape  
A5 Paddy Kingsland -  The Whale  
A6 Roger Limb -  Rallyman
A7 Dick Mills -  Catch The Wind  
A8 Malcolm Clarke -  Believe It Or Not  
A9 Elizabeth Parker -  Planet Earth  
A10 Jonathan Gibbs -  Dawn  
B1 Peter Howell -  Mainstream  
B2 Malcolm Clarke -  The Unseeing Eye  
B3 Peter Howell & Dick Mills -  Fancy Fish
B4 Paddy Kingsland -  Brighton Pier  
B5 Dick Mills -  Armagiddean War Games  
B6 Roger Limb -  Yellow Moon  
B7 Elizabeth Parker - Radio Blackburn  
B8 Dick Mills -  Macrocosm  
B9 Peter Howell -  Land And People  
B10 Jonathan Gibbs -  Houdin's Musical Box
B11 Roger Limb -  Ghost In The Water  
B12 Malcolm Clarke -  The Milonga

Panel Title

No Products

Best Sellers

Mailing List



Or use the Browse feature.